Executive Board
Christopher Bruce
Sharon Stratton
President Elect
Lani Warner Yuen
Past President
Adrienne DeMilner
Vice President
Cyndi Koppelman
NAEA Delegate
Annie Howard
Tanya Lockwood
Jill Walker
Recording Secretary


Graphic Designer
Amy James
ArTeacher Copy Editor
Harvey Goldstein
Fall Conference Programmer
Dan Soelberg
Executive Secretary Communications
Jane Inhulsen
Committee Chair
Digital Editor
Betsy Wellfare
Advocacy Chair
Michael Letts
Arts Acquisitions
D'Andra Clark
Kim Cairy
Amber Yeagley
2018 Conference Co-chair
Michelle Reile
2018 Conference Co-chair
Cindy Semark
2018 Conference Co-chair
Donna Emerson
MDE Exhibit
Lauren Collison
Memorial Scholarship
Wendy J Sample
MI Youth Arts Festival Co-chair
Sarah Nott
MI Youth Arts Festival Co-chair
Laura Todd
Multi-Ethnic Concerns
Tammi Browning
Student Mentorship
Dorothy Brueck
Student Sponsorship
Summer Professional Development
Melissa Hronkin
Summer Professional Development
Le Tran
Technology Co-Chair
Danna Fuller
Technology Co-Chair
Katie Dahlman
Vendor Chair
Julia Tomaro
Youth Arts Month/Advocacy (YAM)
Division Chair
Elementary Division Chair
Ashley LaVoy
Elementary Division Chair
Denise Barrett
Secondary Division Chair
Le Tran
Middle Level Division Co- Chair
Michelle Reile
Middle Level Division Co-Chair
Michael Orlando
Middle Level Division Co-Chair
Tamara Draper
Stefani Borysiak
Higher Education Division
Linda Tyson
Museum Division
Crystal Chesnik
Museum Division
Jessica Wycoff
Retired Division
Maureen Roslanic                           
Student Division
Grace Springsteen 
Art Education Support - NAEA
 NAEA President
Kim Huyler Defibaugh
NAEA Chief Learning Officer
Dennis Inhulsen
NAEA Western Region Vice President
Cindy Todd
NAEA Executive Director
Dr. Deborah B. Reeve
NAEA Elementary Division Director
Thomas Knab
NAEA Middle Level Division Director
September Buys
NAEA Secondary Division Director
Andrea Haas
NAEA Member Services & Database
Christie Castillo
Operations Mgr
ArtServe Public Relations


In 1964 the Michigan Art Education Association began to recognize fellow professionals by choosing an Art Educator of the Year. In 1971 the Art Educator of the Year Award was divided to reflect all levels of art education. In a given year, up to a total of six recipients were honored. 1984 marked the return of our current structure of awarding the honor to one recipient. From 1971-1983 the Art Educator of the Year Award was divided by educational levels.

Please read the PDFs below for the entire list of Distinguished Service Award Winners and Art Educators of the Year.


Simply go to the link listed below to become or renew membership with MAEA. It will register you through NAEA, then MAEA will receive the information once processed.

Our Mission & Vision

The Michigan Art Education Association was founded in 1949 and has provided an exemplary networking opportunity and collegial support for visual art educators throughout Michigan ever since.

The Michigan Art Education Association is unified with National Art Education Association and is currently one of the largest state art organizations in the Nation.

Our mission is to promote quality art education through leadership, service, and professional development. We achieve our mission with the support of the high degree of volunteerism from our members, as well as collaborations with ArtServe Michigan, the Michigan Department of Education, and Michigan Education Association.

MAEA Strategic Plan 2015-2019

MAEA 2015 Constitution and By-Laws

MAEA Job Descriptions

MAEA 2016 Annual Report



Services & Opportunities for Members

Michigan Art Education Association offers many services and opportunities for students and for teachers including:

  1. The National Art Honor Society Scholarship competition for NAHS Chapter members.
  2. Regional and State student art shows for Elementary and Middle School art students
  3. Michigan Youth Arts Festival celebrates the accomplishments of ninth through twelfth grade art students in collaboration with other arts organizations and includes a Governor’s Traveling Show
  4. State Superintendent’s Office Student Art Exhibit
  5. MAEA Memorial Endowment Fund Art Educator Scholarship for College Students in Art Education
  6. MAEA Professional Development Scholarship for our teaching members to enhance action research and classroom collaboration.
  7. MAEA Annual Conference is the largest source of professional development for art educators in the entire state offering SB CEU’s or College credit.
  8. Student Sponsorship Scholarship is awarded for pre-service educators to attend the annual conference with registration paid for.
  9. Summer Professional Development Opportunities are offered in various locations around the state for SB CEU’s or college credit
  10. The ArTeacher Newsletter is a quarterly publication to inform, inspire, amuse and challenge members
  11. MAEA Handbook/Book of Forms is comprised of all forms for all competitions and awards, the annual business report, the constitution and by-laws, Council directory, and workshop proposal form for the upcoming annual conference
  12. Art Acquisitions competition is conducted in collaboration with Michigan Education Association and is a juried exhibition of member’s art with honors, purchase, or distinctions possible
  13. Art Educator of the Year, Distinguished Service, and Retired Art Educator Awards are given annually to outstanding members in recognition for their excellence and service in art education
  14. Advocacy issues are addressed continually and collaboratively with ArtServe Michigan

Please join us and share in the common passion we share, to improve and provide quality Art Education for all of our Michigan Children.

Membership Update Request

If you would like to update or change your contact information (email, address, etc) that is part of your membership record, please email Annie Howard with the desired changes.

Please include your full name, membership number, and contact information updates.


Student Membership

For more information about MAEA membership services for students, please email one of our MAEA Student Division Chairs:

Katie Dowd
Grace Springsteen